“Art and Money, dangerous liaisons”

Monnaie de Paris

caseStudy: Art and Money, dangerous liaisons

Art has always been linked with money. Patrons, collectors, power players invest in art, both as a source of pleasure but also for future profitability. The Monnaie de Paris is undergoing reconstruction and temporary closure of its spaces. In order to stay in touch with the public, the Monnaie de Paris offers a virtual exhibition, "Art and Money, dangerous liaisons". The exhibition takes the form of an open pathway, designed according to a logic that is fun, financial and artistic. The main themes of the exhibition are the purchase, sale, capitalist system and its cash flows, but also the art market, the aesthetic dimensions.

From Andy Warhol to Sophie Calle, Barbara Kruger to Ben Vautier, the show has evolved over time to ask the visitor to vote, to express themselves, to participate in the project. Discussions have involved artists, art historians, philosophers, gallery owners ...
Sébastien Gokalp, curator of the exhibition

Sébastien Gokalp

But what does art have to say about money?  A major concern of our time, economics is to art of today what nudes and landscapes were at the time of classical or impressionist art.  A seminal theme that is a source of fascination, defiance or irony  which generates artwork that are often critical, provocative or seductive. Will money be "the last taboo" as claimed by the critic and art historian Harald Szeemann, a center for artistic questions that we carefully avoid to confront?

Discover the exhibition on the website of the Monnaie de Paris!
To find out more

“Art et Argent, liaisons dangereuses”

Monnaie de Paris

caseStudy: Art et Argent, liaisons dangereuses

L'art a toujours eu partie liée avec l'argent. Mécènes, collectionneurs, puissants de ce monde investissent en art, à la fois source de plaisir mais aussi de gains parfois mirifiques. En raison des travaux de restructuration de son bâtiment qui impliquent la fermeture de ses espaces, la Monnaie de Paris, dans le souci de ne pas perdre le contact avec son public, propose une exposition virtuelle. Art et Argent, liaisons dangereuses prend la forme d'un parcours ouvert, conçu selon une logique à la fois ludique, financière et artistique. L'achat, la vente, le système capitaliste et ses flux, mais aussi le marché de l'art, la dimension esthétique constituent les thèmes principaux.

D'Andy Warhol à Sophie Calle, de Barbara Kruger à Ben Vautier, cette exposition a évolué au fil du temps pour requérir les choix de l'internaute appelé à voter, à s'exprimer, à prendre part au projet. Des débats ont fait intervenir des artistes, des historiens de l'art, des philosophes, des galeristes…
Sébastien Gokalp, commissaire de l'exposition

Sébastien Gokalp

Mais que dit l’art sur l’argent ? Sujet de préoccupation majeur de notre époque, l’économique est à l’art d’aujourd’hui ce que le nu ou le paysage étaient à l’époque classique ou impressionniste : un thème séminal source de fascination, de défiance ou d’ironie, qui génère des œuvres souvent critiques, provocantes ou séduisantes. L’argent serait-il finalement « le dernier tabou » comme l’affirmait le critique et historien d’art Harald Szeemann, un centre de questionnement artistique que l’on évite soigneusement de regarder en face ?

Découvrez l'exposition sur le site de la Monnaie de Paris !
En savoir plus